Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL18 Day 29: A Reward

“Cara, your 2 weeks of free bagels begin now.”

Much of what shows up in my Inbox is junk, but this message that I got on Monday brightened my day.

I was having a slow morning, and running out at lunch is not that easy, so it wasn’t until after school that I was able to stop by and get my first daily reward. I wasn’t expecting to see a wide assortment of bagels displayed at 4:30, but I was surprised to see that the Sprouted Grain Bagel Flat basket was the only one holding anything. It’s a slight letdown, but I shouldn’t complain about a reward. At least the decision was easy.

The next morning, I unroll the paper bag. The slim, dense bagel feels hard in my hand. Some of the oatmeal flakes fall off onto the cutting board. Is this even going to be worth it as my breakfast? I get out the serrated knife and carefully slice the narrow bagel in two. For once, I manage to cut it fairly evenly even though there’s barely any space between my fingers that pinch the sides of the bagel. We happen to have whipped strawberry cream cheese in the fridge, and that little extra bit of sweetness sounds like the perfect compliment to this fiber-rich variety.

At the first bite, I am rewarded with a mouthful of chewy goodness paired with creamy sweetness. So good!

I’m looking forward to these next 2 weeks.

8 Responses to #SOL18 Day 29: A Reward

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar