Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

Using Technology to Support Diverse Learners

This is a great website for information about what resources are available to help learners, mostly with communication arts. It focuses primarily on digital texts, and many features that are often inluded that benefit learners. I’ve just begun to explore digital texts on my own, but I have to say that playing with the features (writing notes, looking up words, highlighting) is fun, and can be a way to increase engagement.

One of the most important things to me when looking at audio enhancements in the fluency with which the text is read. I was intrigued by NetTrekker since it has a feature which allows the websites within its searches to be read aloud. The only problem is, I didn’t think that the robot-like voice would really help struggling readers comprehend the material. Maybe it’s better than nothing, so I’ll have to try it out and see how students actually respond to it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar