Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL19 Day 20: Writing Problems

I don’t exactly have writer’s block; I think I have writer’s flood! Maybe it would be more accurate to describe it as writer’s whirlpool because there are just too many ideas for Slices spinning around in my head. I can even start writing about these ideas. After a couple of sentences, though, a new idea comes into my mind and insists on being written.

What do I do about this? Well, I’ve tried keeping a list of these new ideas so I don’t forget about them as I keep working on another idea, but the new idea keeps nagging at me as I write. Eventually, I switch to writing the new idea. I make pretty good progress, but then another new idea takes over and I’m back into the same problem. It can get pretty frustrating when you know you soon have to finish something and hit Publish.

This is a new problem for me, which must mean that I’m evolving as a writer. I’ve had students talk to me about this sort of problem to me in the past, and I didn’t really understand what they were describing. Now, I get it! Choosing is hard. The pressure of deadlines is hard. Writing is hard…but I really love it!

2 Responses to #SOL19 Day 20: Writing Problems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar