Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL19 Day 17: A Quiet Start

It’s still dark outside. The house is quiet. Besides two of the cats, I’m the only one up and moving. I move to the couch, ask Google to turn on the light, and wrap myself in a blanket to keep the chill off my ankles. My knitting that’s sitting next to the couch begs me to pick it up, and I do.

I find it so calming to knit this scarf. It’s a simple pattern, one that doesn’t require much attention: knit 5, purl 5, repeat to the end; after seven rows, purl 5, knit 5, repeat to the end.

Sometimes I listen to an audiobook or podcast as I knit, but today I choose to just knit, and the silence is bliss. I hear the clicking of the needles and the furnace fan blowing. I feel the soft rub of the wool against my fingers and notice the stiffness across my shoulder blades. I think how I spent yesterday and make a mental list of what I want to accomplish today.

After knittingĀ 5 rows, I feel ready to get up, make some coffee, and start my day.

6 Responses to #SOL19 Day 17: A Quiet Start

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar