Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL18 Day 26: New Books Arrive

Just about a week ago, I learned what titles are on the ballot for the 2018-2019 Great Lakes, Great Books Award. I’ve been sharing the nominated books with students for years, stocking multiple copies in my classroom, and giving students the opportunity to cast their vote for their favorite. It gives us yet another chance to bond as readers.

Once I saw the list, I immediately started looking at different bookstores and used book sites to see how I could get the most copies for the least amount of money. I placed a few orders and started the hard task of waiting for books to arrive.

Today was the day! As I stopped by the school office on my way to lunch, I was greeted by several thick envelopes sat stacked on the floor next to the staff mail slots. Hurray!

It was hard to resist.opening them until I could set the stack down on a table in the staff lounge, but I somehow managed. “What did you get?” the other teachers in the room asked between bites?  I explained about the book list and tore into the envelopes one by one. Another teacher passing through the lounge to the copy machine took a detour to get a better look at the covers. We all love seeing new books!

When it was time to pick up my students from the cafeteria, they all tried to get a good look at the new books, too. As soon as I set them down so that I could take afternoon attendance, three students came over and started reading the back covers of the books. I couldn’t blame them.

Just a few minutes later, someone from the office delivered a Scholastic box to my room. More books arrived! “Open it, open it!” my students begged, and I did. Fortunately, enough new books arrived that each student who wanted one could have one.

The best news is that I know a few more new books are going to arrive tomorrow!!

2 Responses to #SOL18 Day 26: New Books Arrive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar