Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL21 – Day 25 – Finally Waking Up

I usually wake up before my alarm, enjoying a few quiet minutes under the covers before pushing them back and starting my day. Today is not like that. It takes me a few moments to register what the sounds coming from my phone even mean. I turn off the alarm and close my eyes. I can tell that if I don’t get up right now, I’m going to fall back asleep, and who knows when I’ll wake up next.

The whole morning is a blur. I had two cups of tea, but I’m still dragging. I spoke to the kids before they left to catch the bus, talked to my husband about our dinner and evening plans, and scooped the cat litter boxes. I briefly entertained the idea of streaming a yoga class, but sitting on the couch and working word puzzles won out. A cat joined me, resting his paws on my thigh and getting cozy. He clearly approves of this slow morning, too.

When I can’t put it off any longer, I get up and do all the things to get ready that I normally would have done an hour ago. As I finish my morning routine, I open the dining room curtains and glance out at our backyard. Instead of moving on to the next job, I pause because I see that the maple tree outside the window has buds! I smile and think about how even nature needs to rest. That thought perks me up a bit.

A few minutes later, I close the front door and walk to my car. Amid the wood chips and dead stalks from last season, I see crocus pushing their way toward the sun. I smile and capture the sight with my camera. I’m feeling a bit more awake, too.

One Response to #SOL21 – Day 25 – Finally Waking Up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar