Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL21 – Day 6 – Hopeful

This weekend, one year ago, I felt so hopeful. I had my final radiation treatment that Friday. No more rushing out a few minutes early before my lunchtime to make it to the health center, hoping everything would be running on schedule so I’d make it back it back with a few quiet minutes to eat lunch before the students returned. Time to just let my body heal from the trauma of a cancer diagnosis, surgery, chemo, and radiation. We were starting to make plans for the spring and the summer.

I went to the studio for my weekly Saturday morning workout. It wasn’t easy, but working out in the company of others gave me the strength and energy I needed. And that exercise always made me feel a little bit better, more in control, more powerful and confident. I was looking forward to being able to push myself more in the workouts as my body healed.

We all know what happened just after this weekend one year ago. So much of that hope was just ripped from me.

But now, a year later, that hope is coming back. The sun is shining, and we have a week of warm weather in the forecast. I started teaching my whole class face-to-face five days this week! I finally made it back for an in-studio workout this morning! I see my radiologist for my one-year follow-up next week. (And all of my other doctors keep saying that everything looks great and there’s no evidence of disease!) We are starting to make plans for the spring and the summer. Small plans, but we’re making forward progress. It feels so good!

6 Responses to #SOL21 – Day 6 – Hopeful

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar