Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL19 Day 24: A Sign

We’re in the car for a leisurely trip to Target because my daughter has a gift card she’s looking to spend. She’s not sure what she wants to buy, but it’s hard to go to Target and not find something. I certainly don’t mind getting out of the house and browsing as we walk around.

We get into the car, making sure the heated seats are at full-strength this chilly, March morning. I look around and confirm that we have a couple reusable shopping bags in the car. After backing out of the driveway, I once again have to manually adjust the self-adjusting mirrors once when I put the car into drive. (I really need to look up how these are supposed to work!)

Traffic is light this morning, and I don’t have to wait for anyone to turn onto the main road. My daughter and I talk about things in general, just having nice, casual conversation.

A shocking sight catches my eye. Did I really just see what I thought I saw? I blink and focus my attention on the school’s electronic marquis instead of what my daughter is saying. Yes, the sign definitely says, “June 13 and June 14, half days of school.”

I guess it’s never too early to plan ahead, but that’s not what I was expecting to see when we haven’t even had our Spring Break yet!

2 Responses to #SOL19 Day 24: A Sign

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar