Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL19 Day 13: The Fall that Didn’t Happen

Dinner is finished, and we’ve washed all the dishes, so the five of us sit around the campfire talking about our favorite camping memories. N pokes the fire in just the right spot with a long stick, causing sparks to shoot up like a geyser. To avoid the smoke that suddenly shifts, O scoots his face down into his shirt until his eyes just barely show. It’s E’s turn to share, and she proudly says, “Remember the time Mom fell into the creek?!”

“That did NOT happen,” I snap back.

“Yes!”

“It did!”

“Then how come I remember it?”

A silent, quizzical look from the spouse.

“You people always try to say that happened when it didn’t,” I defend.

The conversation continues for at least 10 more minutes, and I never once change my story. The thing is, I did fall in the creek, and we all know it.

 

“Found it!” N is the one to first spot the cache under one of the many fallen trees. Mission accomplished: geocache found! We sign the log, trade trinkets, and rehide the cache just as we found it. We might have time to drive to one more location and try to find an easy hide before we need to head back to our campsite for the evening.

We reverse our walk in, carefully making our way through the undergrowth. The kids are slowed down by the logs and rocks, but the adults have to work to squeeze through the vines and twisting branches. Finally, we’re at the edge of the small creek that separates us from our car.

The drop to the water looks much higher from this side, and it’s pretty steep. Dad goes first, holding onto a tree branch and stepping right into the water with his hiking boots. Two steps and he’s out. I hold onto kids’ hands as they reach across to be grabbed by Dad: one, two, three. Now it’s just me.

“Back up,” I warn everyone. I take two steps back and take a leap to the other side, reaching for a branch on the opposite bank. I miss. Splash! Three kids immediately crack up.

I’m on my butt in the creek. Ugh! The water quickly starts soaking into my jeans. I push myself up and try to climb up the embankment. It’s so steep I need a hand, too. Tears of embarrassment and laughter stream down my face. I have a feeling I’m never going to live this down.

2 Responses to #SOL19 Day 13: The Fall that Didn’t Happen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar