Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL19 Day 5: Heat’s On!

Let’s face it, getting out of bed in the morning is tough. It’s extra-challenging in these winter months when it’s dark and the house isn’t as warm as your blanket-piled bed. My kids and cats (not sure who started this routine) have come up with a way that makes winter mornings a little bit nicer.

My high school freshman slowly makes his way downstairs after his alarm insists that he get up. I’m sure his eyes are barely open as he finds his way to the family room. Once there, he grabs a blanket off the couch, curls himself up on top of the heating vent. With the blanket over himself, he looks like a fuzzy rock as he captures the heat. One cat is pressed in next to him, enjoying the heat and a nice tummy rub.

I notice the time, so I walk over and turn down the thermostat. As the heat cycles off, the boy gets up to have breakfast and start his day. The cat, of course, stays put.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar