Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL18 Day 31: What I’ve Discovered

I’m motivated by a good challenge, but I’m still somewhat surprised that I made it. I cannot even remember the last time that I wrote every day for a week, let along a month. Completing the Slice of Life Challenge has helped me understand so many things about writing.

I used to think you had to have a plan for your writing.

Now I know that your writing usually evolves as you work on it.

I used to think you could sit down and write a paragraph in a few minutes.

Now I know that some ideas need more times to take shape.

I used to think that some people have a gift for words.

Now I know that there will always be days when finding the right words is hard.

I used to think I didn’t have good enough ideas for writing.

Now I know that any idea has value.

I used to think that you need to come up with ideas.

Now I know that you need to notice ideas to write about.

I used to think that writing was work.

Now I know that writing can be play.

I used to think that writing about about writing.

Now I know that reading is also a huge part of writing.

I used to think all writing had to have certain characteristics or meaning.

Now I know that just putting words down on paper is enough.

I used to think I couldn’t possibly share personal writing.

Now I know that sharing personal writing helps both the writer and the reader.

I used to think that writing was all about the writer.

Now I know that writing is even better when it has readers.

I used to think more detail and description made writing better.

Now I know that less can be more when it comes to writing.

I used to think I couldn’t write poetry.

Now I know that poetry is a magical way to express ideas.

I used to think that writing was an individual activity.

Now I know that writing happens in a community.

I used to think I wasn’t really a writer.

Now I know that I am and always will be a writer.

 

7 Responses to #SOL18 Day 31: What I’ve Discovered

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar