Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL18 Day 18: Getting to Know the Community

I am a morning person, so I wake up to the cat alarm, feed the cats, and then come down to write. There are usually around 30 post links already shared in the comments. These are usually the Slices I read and comment on each day, so much so that I’m starting to recognize the layout, color scheme, title, and photographs on the blogs of many of these Slicers. When I revisit the Daily Call for Slices at a later hour, I’m amazed at how the number has grown. There are more than 270 Slices shared by the start of the next day. I click on a few more links and try to get to know a few more of my fellow Slicers.

When the Commenting Challenge was announced yesterday, I was very excited. This was the push I needed to try harder to get to more of the Slicers involved. It’s going to be tough because our state reading conference is this weekend (anyone else at MRA???), but I’m going to really make an effort to visit as many different blogs as I can.

The variety that I’m finding is so inspiring! Seeing some of the same themes and structures show up in Slices gives me comfort and reassurance. Reading bios and seeing that we have participants in so many different teaching positions and stages of their careers. Wow!

Even though all of this getting to know people is happening virtually, I notice that it’s the same stages I go through in face-to-face groups. (I think that’s a Slice for another time.) I’m getting to know so many people. And I so appreciate the people who are getting to know me. Thank you!

16 Responses to #SOL18 Day 18: Getting to Know the Community

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar