Wonders All Around

Learning Alongside My 5th Grade Wonders

By

#SOL18 Day 9: Math Homework

I really love math, and when I get to use it in my life, I proudly get a bit geeky in those moments. Of course, there is math time every day in 5th grade, but the times I get to use in outside of the lessons and journals are really thrilling. Oooo, oooo! You’re analyzing data? I’ll make you a lovely box-and-whisker plot!  Oooo, oooo! You want to plan a school garden? I’ll make you a handy scale drawing!

I had a special treat this week: both of my middle school sons asked for help on their math homework, so I got to do a bit of beyond-basic algebra and some trigonometry! I will always love the thrill of solving for a variable or two, and it amuses me that SOH-CAH-TOA is still stuck in my brain when I struggle to keep other details straight.

There are times when I wonder if I shouldn’t have been a middle or high school math teacher, but at least math comes up in my life…and my kids’ homework.

2 Responses to #SOL18 Day 9: Math Homework

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar